Author Topic: TexAir dryer info needed  (Read 3096 times)

Offline blue moon

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
TexAir dryer info needed
« on: April 12, 2011, 11:47:22 AM »
Gas dryer, $3500 in MA.
I could really use a bigger (and forced air) dryer, but money is tight.

Has anybody used one of these? Should I be worried that it will be more trouble than it's worth (and should look into a new one instead)?

How hot do they run? I am i air conditioned space, would hate to keep warming it up as I am cooling it down at the same time.

If they need fixing, how hard is it? I used to work as an industrial sparky so I know my way around industrial equipment. Will a dryer like this require a company tech or can somebody handy with a crescent hammer actually fix it?

pierre
Yes, we've won our share of awards, and yes, I've tested stuff and read the scientific papers, but ultimately take everything I say with more than just a grain of salt! So if you are looking for trouble, just do as I say or even better, do something I said years ago!

Online ebscreen

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
Re: TexAir dryer info needed
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2011, 01:29:06 PM »
Great dryers, many of them still in service.

They do run hot. Ain't no CoolSkin on these old guys.

Most will have pretty serious radiant bump panels as well.
E/G/E or EEG etc.

Mine is 4ft in 12ft heat 4 ft out. I have the first panel disconnected
to keep the draw down. I run the gas on full temp and the electric
at 625.

I run discharge at about 600 pieces/hr on a full belt ~10x10 print
size. Plastisol faster then I can print.

I'll admit I'm pretty wet behind the ears when it comes to the mysteries
of gas control hardware and electronics. But the things do look danged simple.
Bunch of solenoid valves and whatnot.

Offline alan802

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • I like to screen print
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2011, 12:07:25 PM »