Author Topic: I need to borrow your expertise and opinions!  (Read 3156 times)

Offline Printhouse

I need to borrow your expertise and opinions!
« on: April 26, 2011, 07:44:42 PM »
OK......  I am at a point in my business that I  feel that the expertise on this site could really benefit me.  I was pm'ing back and forth with Pierre the other day and he thought it may be a good idea to start a thread on the discussion.  Before I get into the back story of how my business has grown I will preface it with the intent of this post.  I am trying to decide between moving up to an automatic press at this time or continuing on as a manual shop at this time.  If I do move up to a manual press I am very interested in the advice of the more experienced members here to help me out. So.... with that being said, let's begin!

Back Story....

First and foremost for those that do not know me I am a flight nurse on a medical helicopter.  I worked long and hard to obtain this position which is very coveted in my chosen field.  This is my 11th year flying and I love it more each shift.  The best thing about the position is that I work six 24 hour shifts per month as my full time position.  This allows me a great salary and lots of time off to be at home.  For the past 4 years I have ran on online forum for custom motorcycle builders and fabricators.  I was coming up with shirt designs and having someone print them up for me to sell on my forum.  I was paying about $8 and selling them for $15.  Things went really well and we sold a ton of shirts.  Last may I decided that with all my spare time maybe I could print the shirts myself and make a little more profit on them.  I started with a hobby kit from Hobby Lobby and some black speedball ink......  yes, one year ago that is how I was printing shirts!  In June of last year I was approached by a local shop interested in selling their 6/4 Harco press.  I made a great deal on it and hauled it home.  Over the next month I sourced a Dryer, fl