Author Topic: Holding registration -- what is a reasonable expectation?  (Read 5367 times)

Offline redwoodtees

Holding registration -- what is a reasonable expectation?
« on: July 17, 2017, 01:29:20 PM »
I have a manual back-clamp press (Workhorse Mach). I'm starting to do jobs that require tighter registration, and I'm getting frustrated. I'm trying to get a feel for what kind of variance is normal or acceptable for my situation. Here is what I am experiencing: I register a screen, tighten everything, raise the screen, gently rotate the carousel back and forth to simulate normal operation, drop the screen back down, and I am out of registration by as much as 1/16". So I re-register and repeat, and again the registration is off. Is this to be expected on a back-clamp press, or does my press need adjustment? Or perhaps I am just doing something stupid (I am still relatively new at this). I'm also reaching out to Workhorse, but wanted to get some general feedback on manual presses holding registration.

Chris

Offline 244

• Gonzo Member
Re: Holding registration -- what is a reasonable expectation?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 01:41:12 PM »
I have a manual back-clamp press (Workhorse Mach). I'm starting to do jobs that require tighter registration, and I'm getting frustrated. I'm trying to get a feel for what kind of variance is normal or acceptable for my situation. Here is what I am experiencing: I register a screen, tighten everything, raise the screen, gently rotate the carousel back and forth to simulate normal operation, drop the screen back down, and I am out of registration by as much as 1/16". So I re-register and repeat, and again the registration is off. Is this to be expected on a back-clamp press, or does my press need adjustment? Or perhaps I am just doing something stupid (I am still relatively new at this). I'm also reaching out to Workhorse, but wanted to get some general feedback on manual presses holding registration.

Chris