Author Topic: How can I distinguish S-Mesh screens from regular ones?  (Read 4414 times)

Offline print3r

• Verified/Junior
How can I distinguish S-Mesh screens from regular ones?
« on: November 16, 2017, 08:30:59 PM »
Over the past few months, we've been ordering a mix of S-Mesh and regular screens and over time they have gotten mostly integrated with each other. At first, I was told that S-Mesh screens were marked with the mesh count and diameter (e.g. 158/48), but now we aren't so sure.

On some of the lower meshes, I can see the mesh pattern itself (it seems to me that S-Meshes are in more of a brick pattern than a grid), but the naked eye won't suffice for anything above a 135.

Are there certain mesh counts that are solely used in S-Mesh screens? For example, it seems like all our 156s are standard screens and 158s are S-Mesh. However, I'm a real noob at screenprinting and this is pretty much just guesswork from this one job I've had in this one warehouse. Are there other ways I can tell--perhaps an S-Mesh looks different on a Mesh Determiner than a standard screen?

Maybe it shouldn't even matter? The only reason I'd like to discern them is because S-Meshes seem to hold more emulsion and hold it more stubbornly, so I don't always like printing halftones or thin lines on them.

Thanks for the advice and patience with my noobery. :)

Offline merchmonster

Re: How can I distinguish S-Mesh screens from regular ones?
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2017, 08:57:53 PM »
buy a ptouch label maker and strong adhesive tape to mark your screens. it will last through the reclaim / dip tank.
Merch Monster Screen Printing Embroidery and DTG Direct To Garment Printing
Servicing Oakland CA and the Greater San Francisco Bay Area
http://www.merchmonster.net

Offline print3r

• Verified/Junior
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2017, 09:58:31 PM »
buy a ptouch label maker and strong adhesive tape to mark your screens. it will last through the reclaim / dip tank.