Author Topic: Problem printing fleece _ Silicone inks  (Read 1247 times)

Offline Maxie

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
Problem printing fleece _ Silicone inks
« on: March 22, 2018, 12:46:46 PM »
We have a problem with a container of sweatshirts we got from China, we ordered material with a high cotton content and what we received has different material in the different sizes.  Some have a lot of cotton and some mostly synthetic, most probably polyester.
We printed black sweatshirts with a under base and red and yellow on top, all the sizes looked good except for one where the synthetic content is obviously much higher.   Colors looked totally washed out.
A lot of what we print is one color so I am thinking of using Silicone inks to solve this problem.
I have no experience with silicone.
Id like to know if silicone will look the same on the different materials?
They recommend curing silicone at a lower temperature than regular plastisol, what will happen if it's cured at a higher temperature, the same as plastisol?
Is it expensive to use?     You have to throw away left over ink after printing.
Which suppliers carry Union silicone?
Maxie Garb.
T Max Designs.
Silk Screen Printers
www.tmax.co.il

Offline blue moon

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
Re: Problem printing fleece _ Silicone inks
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2018, 01:32:45 PM »
silicone will not work on blends. It really is for 100% poly only. It has no mat down properties. . .

pierre
Yes, we've won our share of awards, and yes, I've tested stuff and read the scientific papers, but ultimately take everything I say with more than just a grain of salt! So if you are looking for trouble, just do as I say or even better, do something I said years ago!

Offline mk162

• Ludicrous Speed Member
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2018, 01:49:59 PM »