Author Topic: Heat transfer trucker hats  (Read 2457 times)

Offline lancasterprinthouse

Heat transfer trucker hats
« on: August 10, 2018, 10:48:54 AM »
I have an order for a couple hundred plastisol transfer trucker hats. I’ve never done this before. I went out and bought a Hotronix cap press because the job paid for it (love it when that happens) and frankly I’ve been outsourcing heat pressed patch hats for a while so it’ll be nice to do them in-house.

Anyways, it’s a teal ink color (319) on black foam front trucker hats. My concern is opacity and how to achieve it. Typically this ink color would not look good on a black shirt without an underbase but is that different on the hats because I’m transferring? The design has some small lines that I would typically print through 230 mesh as discharge but I could get it on a mesh as low as 156 without any issues.

What would you recommend for mesh, ink and application?

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Frog

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Docendo discimus
Re: Heat transfer trucker hats
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2018, 11:01:35 AM »
Note that this is very old information as it's been a while since I did plastisol transfers on hats, but when I did, my rule of thumb on dark hats, light ink, was one step coarser on the screen than I usually use for direct manual printing.
Keep in mind, that back then, 110 was typical for whites!
Cold peel also helped me keep opacity.
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?

Offline ericheartsu

• Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2018, 11:06:13 AM »
I believe because it's sitting on top of the hat, and not being driven in, you'll get a much more opaque design, than if they were being printed.

But if you are using polyester hats, Watch your temp, as you can see some migration of the ink.