Author Topic: Tri-Light question  (Read 397 times)

Offline Doug S

  • Gonzo Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1206
Tri-Light question
« on: August 12, 2018, 11:34:21 AM »
I'm thinking of buying a used tri-light 6000 watt exposure unit at a steal.  This one isn't made for CTS but I was wondering if there would be a way to remove the glass and trick the unit into thinking that it was vacuuming so that I could use it to expose.  I've done this with 2 exposure units I have but I was reading the brochure on it and it said the vacuum isn't attached to the blanket which would make it easy to do but would there be a way to plug the vacuum hose somewhere else?
It's not a job if you love doing it.


Offline Frog

  • Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12068
  • Docendo discimus
Re: Tri-Light question
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2018, 12:16:28 PM »
Why would you even want to run the vacuum pump?
If it can be "fooled" it should be able to be re-wired to eliminate the entire vacuum circuit.
"It's crackers to slip a rozzer the dropsy in snide"

Offline Doug S

  • Gonzo Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1206
Re: Tri-Light question
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2018, 12:28:30 PM »
For me, that would require someone that knows about rewiring unless someone can give me step by step. All I know about electricity is there is a hot and a ground but that's about the extent of it.
It's not a job if you love doing it.

Offline Lizard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 282
Re: Tri-Light question
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2018, 08:32:35 PM »
You can set the vacuum to 0 and the machine will just bypass that step.  You can fit 4 23 x 31 on the machine at a time without the glass.  You will just have to fabricate a frame to hold your screens.
Toby
 Shirt Lizard Charlotte, NC 704-521-5225

Offline Doug S

  • Gonzo Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1206
Re: Tri-Light question
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2018, 08:38:38 PM »
You can set the vacuum to 0 and the machine will just bypass that step.  You can fit 4 23 x 31 on the machine at a time without the glass.  You will just have to fabricate a frame to hold your screens.
Awesome Thanks!  I’m looking forward to going from 1200 watt to 6000. 
It's not a job if you love doing it.

Offline mk162

  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 7130
Re: Tri-Light question
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2018, 10:35:23 AM »
We went from 1,000 to 7,500 and LOVE it. Its a huge improvement.

Offline Alex M

  • !!!
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
Re: Tri-Light question
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2018, 02:48:35 PM »
You can set the vacuum to 0 and the machine will just bypass that step.  You can fit 4 23 x 31 on the machine at a time without the glass.  You will just have to fabricate a frame to hold your screens.

This ^
I have have seen many shops do this and they LOVE it. Keeps room cool b/c they have a longer time between exposures waiting for 4 screens (similar mesh obviously).
Alex Mammoser
Director of Sales
Easiway Systems
Mobile: +1 630 220 6588
[email protected]

Offline Doug S

  • Gonzo Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1206
Re: Tri-Light question
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2018, 04:18:09 PM »
I just purchased it from a real standup guy.  Now for the electrician and making room.  Thanks for the advice.
It's not a job if you love doing it.