Author Topic: Rob in California (SF Bay)  (Read 1286 times)

Offline gotshirtz001

Rob in California (SF Bay)
« on: September 05, 2018, 04:51:49 PM »
Hello,
My name is Rob and I am a full-time firefighter with a side hustle focused on providing on-duty and off-duty wear to public safety agencies (Police/Fire/EMS).
I had a small manual screen printing operation which I started in the mid-90s when I graduated high school and spent the next 15 years using the equipment as an on-again/off-again side gig before unloading everything to focus on more career stability. I got back into the game mid-2017 when I brokered a larger job which led me to my current business model. I reopened a production area in early 2018 and run the business as a mixed operation; printing some jobs in-house and outsourcing others. I teach workshops on screen printing basics with an emphasis on what to look for when purchasing used equipment. I also offer an option to rent time in my shop or purchase from a variety of used equipment I have on-hand.

Current equipment:
2004 M&R Chameleon 6/4 w side air clamps
2016 M&R Sidewinder 6/4 w side air clamps
2008 M&R Economax 2 (3 panel)
Hopkins RedAir 20x20 Auto Flash (two of these)
NuArc MSP3140
SWF BT1201C Embroidery

I anticipate upgrading to a small automatic (8/10) and adding a 4 or 6 head embroidery to the operation by the end of 2020.

So far I really enjoy that this board has a lot of experienced and helpful people who are focused on improving quality and efficiency rather than simply trying to figure out a way to build DIY equipment out of 2x4s, tin cans and shop lights within their $136.89 budget.

« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 05:55:03 PM by gotshirtz001 »
I'm flexible until I'm not

Offline Frog

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Docendo discimus
Re: Rob in California (SF Bay)
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2018, 05:02:23 PM »