Author Topic: 1 man press  (Read 4508 times)

Offline Fleetee

• Verified/Junior
1 man press
« on: October 15, 2018, 10:05:35 AM »
1 person will be running my workhorse sabre. For those of you here who run an automatic press by themselves or have experience running it by themselves, any tips/advice? So I beware/anticipate anything? Just seeking some advice from you guys that are more experiences so that I can better prepare myself and all. ANYTHING will help guys, thanks!!

Offline Frog

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Docendo discimus
Re: 1 man press
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2018, 10:32:35 AM »
I may be in the minority, but I think that regularly having only one person run a automatic is a big waste of the machine's potential.
A loader, an unloader, and a catcher at the end of the dryer will keep that machine spitting out money, while one person will mostly just save their back.
I worked in a shop once, in which a particular guy running their Hopkins manual, could come close to matching a single person trying to load and unload their auto.

The increase in production gained by hiring one or two more folks at the going entry level wages in North Carolina will more than pay for itself.
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?

Offline 3Deep

• !!!
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2018, 10:46:45 AM »
Well while what Frog states is correct if you have the jobs and man power, but in my shop I run my press load/unload and my wife or help if we need it at times stays at the end of the dryer, and I will also beg to differ on a manual vs an auto ;), but to his credit he did say this particular guy and shop.  It's all in your setup, press ain't nothing without a good dryer that can out pace it, then you'll never have a bottle neck at the dryer no matter how many or how less of people you have working on the press.
Life is like Kool-Aid, gotta add sugar/hardwork to make it sweet!!

Offline farmboygraphics