Author Topic: Murakami T9  (Read 3521 times)

Offline SkullOnFireStudio

Murakami T9
« on: January 05, 2019, 05:25:12 AM »
Hi guys I am fairly new to exposing my screens on a old Ryonet RXP Aluminum UV Screen Exposure Unit w/ Lid  25x36in and I am using Murakami T9. The main issue is I have done a test strip and for the best results I should be exposing for 130seconds with 160Mesh. I have tried doing actual jobs with that exposure time and the emulsion is not coming out of the screen at all. I either have to rub it slowly by hand or gently scrub it till I either rub to much off or I ruin the screen. I was just curious what you all think would be the next step. I have also lowered the time to about 1 minute and the emulsion did come off easier but it didn't hold up on the screen. It's not a huge issue but it is killing my work time! Any help would be greatly appreciated! Hopefully the info I provided made sense.

Thanks,
Skully

Offline Frog

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Docendo discimus
Re: Murakami T9
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2019, 08:47:10 AM »
First off, welcome Skully.
So, if understand correctly, the test exposure, using a commercially manufactured test strip, washed out fine.
However, the problem arose when you tried one with your own film?
So, something is different. First guess would be that the black of the films you make and used are not as dense as that of the test strip.
That is called the d-max, and is crucial. Some exposing light may be getting through areas you thought were blocked.
How are you making films? If you hold one up to the light, can you see through it?
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?

Offline Maxie

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2019, 02:30:19 PM »
On Youtube there is a video of Ryan demonstration the unit, he exposes for 225 seconds.
I suggest you get a Stouffer 21 step test strip and make sure that you are drying your screens in the dark a environment that is not too hot.