Author Topic: Ghost/Shadow Issue  (Read 1090 times)

Offline Nation03

• Gonzo Member
  • The Dude abides.
Ghost/Shadow Issue
« on: February 20, 2019, 08:44:45 PM »
So I recently had my new auto installed and started to get rolling with it the last few days. Everything is going well except for this issue of ghosting/shadowing. It usually happens with white, photo below. This is my first auto with choppers so I'm still learning, but they seem to be more harsh on 135-S mesh, photo also below. I've tweaked angles and pressure and saw it somewhat get reduced but still not 100%. Any tips for this? Screen was about 20 newtons, fair amount of off contact, tried printing anywhere between 40-50psi with varying angles. Any help is appreciated!

Offline mimosatexas

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • contributor
Re: Ghost/Shadow Issue
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2019, 10:02:13 PM »
Couple possible causes. Your flood pressure is too high and moving the screen in a way that it is picking up ink on the flood when double stroking then transferring that ink as a ghost on the second print stroke. OR your combination of angle, pressure, mesh count, etc means you are pushing too much ink through the mesh and this is essentially directional dot gain for lack of a better way to describe it. Too much ink with no where to go means it will squeeze out at the bottom of the image. OR something is not locked down and is shifting. Could be pallets, squeegee, screen clamps, etc. Could be glue related as well, but that wouldn't be as uniforms typically.

Offline mimosatexas

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2019, 10:06:32 PM »
Follow-up: what press? What squeegee durometer? What angle? How much off contact? What white ink and has it been modified?