Author Topic: Perfect doesn’t come easy.  (Read 6032 times)

Offline Dottonedan

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Email me at art@designsbydottone.com
Perfect doesn’t come easy.
« on: April 15, 2021, 02:06:47 PM »
Today’s TIP.

Perfect doesn’t come easy. Be more critical of your own art and separations but more open to being less critical of the results of what is provided to you by someone else to produce.  What?

Here’s what I mean.
We all strive for perfection or to do better than the last time. With apparel printing, it’s a challenge and what makes apparel printing so great is that the challenge is actually always obtainable with more time. But what I want to say, is to not get ahead of yourself.  It will come.

As an artist, I know that one of the biggest setbacks or holds on an artist growth is ourselves. We struggle with wanting that perfection right away. This is why so many creative people just give up on art and do something else with faster results. They want what they want it to look like “right now” and when starting out, you can’t get that right away and it’s very frustrating. This is often the same for color separations and printing on apparel. To ease the pain of waiting on perfection, we need to document our accomplishments so that we can track them, learn from them and also appreciate just how far we have come or have grown.

When we “create the art ourselves”, and we separate it, we are less critical of the results. It’s ours and we can be less critical and more forgiving and might see some things that can be changed but we know the customer may never see what we see wrong with it...and the customer may even think “this is what it is to look like".  Others see what we have done and we receive some accolades and become satisfied with the results more easily.