Author Topic: Separation software dilema  (Read 13154 times)

Offline blue moon

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
Re: Separation software dilema
« Reply #30 on: March 07, 2012, 09:50:28 PM »
Just my .02 here. 

Quick background... I have been doing color seperations since the winter of 2000.  I went through 4 sep programs in 6 months before I gave up in frustration and taught myself how to sep by hand and how to automate the begining portion of what I do, all in order to acheive a superior product.

Dan has it right.  There is not a single sep program available that you will not have to spend 15 minutes to an hour fixing the results of.

I have personally watched several images almost dissapear through push button programs.  This is due to the pre-programmed set of curves and adjustments those programs do during thier color generating process.

Push button sep programs are all very very very image dependant for the results you want.  The brighter and more saturated the image, the better your results are.  The more "primary" your colors are (in the RGB computer color spectrum) the better your seperation will be.

With that said, the more popular programs have a better user interface.  Go with the one that gives you the best customer service and walkthrough.

Just understand that you will not be saving as much time as you hope to with your purchase.  But yes, you will save some time :)

Colin,

did you by any chance check out ICISS?

pierre
Yes, we've won our share of awards, and yes, I've tested stuff and read the scientific papers, but ultimately take everything I say with more than just a grain of salt! So if you are looking for trouble, just do as I say or even better, do something I said years ago!

Offline mk162

• Ludicrous Speed Member
« Reply #31 on: March 07, 2012, 09:56:28 PM »
I have both EasyArt and QuikSeps.  Neither is perfect, but the shortcuts are nice.

Offline Colin

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • Ink and Chemical Product Manager