Author Topic: Backing?  (Read 2501 times)

Offline JBLUE

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
Backing?
« on: August 13, 2012, 04:57:09 PM »
So I am going to get dirty and embroider some of the high end moisture wicking polos. My question is what backing do you guys that use on these? I have run some of the lower end performance stuff with no real issues but I want to be safe on a 20+ dollar polo. The design is some text with a circle around it. I do not foresee too much pulling. Thanks.
www.inkwerksspd.com

We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid...... Ben Franklin

Offline ScreenPrinter123

Re: Backing?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2012, 05:07:49 PM »
I am new to the world of embroidery but we just did a couple hundred left chest on the bottom of the barrel moisture management shirts and used two layers of medium cutaway and that worked well for us.

I know this is not very specific so it might not help much but I thought I would offer what little information I had that was related to your question.

Offline Gilligan

• !!!
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2012, 05:11:30 PM »
I do mesh on the shirt then cut away behind that, sometimes two. I heard wax paper helps lube the needle but I didn't notice a difference.

Offline JBLUE

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2012, 06:28:00 PM »
I am new to the world of embroidery but we just did a couple hundred left chest on the bottom of the barrel moisture management shirts and used two layers of medium cutaway and that worked well for us.

I know this is not very specific so it might not help much but I thought I would offer what little information I had that was related to your question.

Any info is always appreciated. You never know when that small tidbit might help someone. Thanks for sharing guys.
www.inkwerksspd.com

We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid...... Ben Franklin

Offline Denis Kolar

• Gonzo Member