Author Topic: vector art for Embird  (Read 2498 times)

Offline DogArtGuy

vector art for Embird
« on: March 27, 2015, 02:11:35 PM »
  Hi, I'm a long time freelance artist in the screenprinting world, expanding into art for embroidery. I'm working with a friend who who is a very experienced custom drapery professional who is starting embroidery (single head machine with a 10 needle babylock coming soon). I do my own freehand artwork and am getting to the point that I have clean vector art (AI).
   Are there any tips for a beginning digitizer to either set up the vector art before I import it into Embird Studio or basic tips for setting things up during the digitizing process? At this point just importing the vectors and doing an auto "generate stitches" seems to produce pretty nice results BUT the actual stitching is overly complicated. I'm not doing the actual stitch work..... just the art. My friend will be tweaking the digitized art (stitch type, density etc.) I just want to give her a (very)good starting point. I'm looking into tutorials and reading etc. but I thought I'd ask to see if I can get a head start and maybe a few "magic formulas".
  Thanks!  ------- Steve

Offline larryk

• !!!
Re: vector art for Embird
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2015, 02:55:44 PM »
Hi Steve and welcome to the Boards..... We use Embird as well and I create most of the art in Corel and save as a cmx file. Normally we just generate the stitches automatically and let the program do it's thing with results that are acceptable by most all of our customers. Not sure what you mean by the stitching being overly complicated..... but you do have to be careful when drawing to make sure you are not laying colors over the top of each other. The program doesn't recognize just the part showing but also the part that is covered up adding extra stitches and piling up thread where it does not need to be. When things get too complicated we just send them out for digitizing.... Good Luck to ya'