Author Topic: Studying too hard?  (Read 1287 times)

Offline lrsbranding

• Verified/Junior
Studying too hard?
« on: April 22, 2015, 09:51:57 AM »
Are the large comic halftones making a comeback or am I studying separation techniques too much? I keep seeing the large halftones in tv ads and some news shows. Have they always been there and I'm just now noticing?

Offline Frog

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Docendo discimus
Re: Studying too hard?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2015, 10:08:15 AM »
I think that it's always been a popular effect, really taken to the max in the late '60's (on screened prints. in fact)
Interestingly for me, I worked in a shop that did billboards, so for me, I was always around "in your face" sized dots.

But yes, with programs like Rasterbator, there seems to be a renewed interest.
Isn't art (and fashion) always recycling trends?
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?

Offline lrsbranding

• Verified/Junior
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2015, 11:44:16 AM »
This site is like the red pill for screen printers. Hanging out with the masters of the industry has me noticing things that I never saw before. I'm more interested in the screen printed shirt than the girl wearing it. Which is kinda sad if you think about it.  I went over to the embroidery dept. and saw Barudan used halftones on the control board. I'm seeing them everywhere. I can't wait to see how deep the rabbit hole goes.  This morning I looked outside and saw the trees covered in elliptical dots. My wife is certain that they are just leaves but we know the truth.

Offline Frog

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Docendo discimus
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2015, 12:01:13 PM »
As I said, the billboard thing was interesting, as when up close and personal with some, all discernible image was lost, replaced by a somewhat abstract design of dots.