Author Topic: I need to cobble together small "hot box" for transfer paper  (Read 5954 times)

Offline Itsa Little CrOoked

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
Re: I need to cobble together small "hot box" for transfer paper
« Reply #30 on: January 18, 2016, 11:18:20 PM »
back to "cobbling". Just get a sheet of foam and cut pieces to fit in a nice cardboard box.

That said, I think that many of us agree that a bigger piece of the puzzle is the initial and immediate shrinkage and its added stability you'll achieve with a trip (or two) down the belt.

I may indeed be partly barking up the wrong tree here, Andy. Registration trouble is why I'm looking to build a hot box in the first place.

I'm self taught mostly, (Well that, and theshirtboard) so since I've never been around "best practices" in an established shop except Kitson's for a workshop, I know I'm still making occasional basic boo-boos. Trial and error are the order of the day many times. (For most of us, I suspect)

I built my own vacuum platen which fits on my manual. My homemade "stop tabs" are in question at this point, as is my general expectation of what can be achieved on paper, I reckon. And....I'm new to multi color transfers.

I can shrink a piece of paper,  (twice) walk it from the end of the belt right back to the press and print the first pass. Immediately back in the tunnel, and immediately back to the press. Unless it's pouring down rain outside, I oughta be able to hit that 2nd pass, dot on dot. Right?!?  Same plate, same squeegee, same printing technique.

Am I just expecting too much?