Author Topic: Adobe plans  (Read 2628 times)

Offline Sbrem

  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6042
Adobe plans
« on: May 16, 2023, 09:09:07 AM »
On my desktop, I have PS and Illustrator running. On our artist's computer, it's just Illustrator, a slightly older version that she's comfortable with, which is fine. I fix a number of images in PS when we can't get a good file to start with, and want to put PS on her computer so she can start doing these things. So I tried to install PS, but it says I can't run PS on both machines at the same time, yet Illustrator does not have that problem, they are both running all day every day without a problem. I thought maybe I have to update my plan, and that's where it all goes south. I log into Creative Cloud to try to update, but I'm pretty confused by all the plans, as I simply want to add a copy of PS to that machine and be able to run it concurrently. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I really thought this would be easy, but nooooo...

Steve
I made a mistake once; I thought I was wrong about something; I wasn't


Offline blue moon

  • Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6358
Re: Adobe plans
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2023, 02:17:12 PM »
might have to call them to sort it out.
In a nutshell, you are supposed to have a license for each user. Then each user is allowed to use it on 2 computers.
there is a way to get a PS license only if that's all you want. But the full suite is only like $10-$15 more per month and if you ever could use some of the other options, it's a good deal.
you might have to have the Illustrator brought up to speed in order to get the PS going. These days it all has to run through creative cloud installer.

pj
Yes, we've won our share of awards, and yes, I've tested stuff and read the scientific papers, but ultimately take everything I say with more than just a grain of salt! So if you are looking for trouble, just do as I say or even better, do something I said years ago!

Offline Sbrem

  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6042
Re: Adobe plans
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2023, 04:18:02 PM »
Thanks Pierre, I thought it was something like that, but the site is rather convoluted, to me anyway, and there doesn't seem to be a way to contact them. Spending hours trying to weed through the site when I have a simple question is kind of off-putting...

Steve
I made a mistake once; I thought I was wrong about something; I wasn't

Offline whitewater

  • !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1782
Re: Adobe plans
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2023, 10:44:23 AM »
We have 2 subscriptions for each illy and PS. One for my office computer and one for the artist computer.

But when I travel, I can log in on my laptop and use either one, but It shows the 2 shop computers and if I log out of one of them, I can use it on my laptop. So it can be open for 2 users at the same time, doesn't matter what computer or where I am.

Offline Sbrem

  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6042
Re: Adobe plans
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2023, 11:03:00 AM »
We have 2 subscriptions for each illy and PS. One for my office computer and one for the artist computer.

But when I travel, I can log in on my laptop and use either one, but It shows the 2 shop computers and if I log out of one of them, I can use it on my laptop. So it can be open for 2 users at the same time, doesn't matter what computer or where I am.

I'm under the impression that we have 2 subscriptions as well, I have Illy and PS on my desktop, and our artist has Illy. When I try to add PS to her machine, I get the problem I described earlier. Yet, we run 2 copies of Illy without a problem. When I get out of the weeds I'll double down on it. Thanks everyone.

Steve
I made a mistake once; I thought I was wrong about something; I wasn't

Offline blue moon

  • Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6358
Re: Adobe plans
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2023, 03:25:21 PM »
We have 2 subscriptions for each illy and PS. One for my office computer and one for the artist computer.

But when I travel, I can log in on my laptop and use either one, but It shows the 2 shop computers and if I log out of one of them, I can use it on my laptop. So it can be open for 2 users at the same time, doesn't matter what computer or where I am.

I'm under the impression that we have 2 subscriptions as well, I have Illy and PS on my desktop, and our artist has Illy. When I try to add PS to her machine, I get the problem I described earlier. Yet, we run 2 copies of Illy without a problem. When I get out of the weeds I'll double down on it. Thanks everyone.

Steve

make sure the creative cloud app is installed. It then manages all the other installations. If you are on older version of Illustrator and not running Creative Cloud to manage the installs it can get complicated.

Yes, we've won our share of awards, and yes, I've tested stuff and read the scientific papers, but ultimately take everything I say with more than just a grain of salt! So if you are looking for trouble, just do as I say or even better, do something I said years ago!

Offline Maxie

  • !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1318
Re: Adobe plans
« Reply #6 on: Today at 06:12:10 AM »
Adobe have a PS Photographers version which I believe has everything we need, it's much cheaper
Maxie Garb.
T Max Designs.
Silk Screen Printers
www.tmax.co.il