Author Topic: American Auto presses - Multi, Rototex, Centurian  (Read 12269 times)

Offline Inkworks

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • Pad&Screenprinter
Re: American Auto presses - Multi, Rototex, Centurian
« Reply #30 on: August 27, 2012, 11:32:28 PM »

Word of caution- I hear that some vinyl inks do not take well to being force dried.  I have no experience with these however.

Any vinyl ink I've used has been fine with heat drying, usually it's the media being printed that determines max temp, not the vinyl ink. Depending on the size of the sheet good you're printing, you do need to be careful about letting it cool down before laying on subsequent colours or the residual heat can cause the sheet to grow enough to cause registration problems, for some big sheet goods we would rack them after heat drying to cool them down to room temp, but then we were printing some pretty big stuff.

Of course the flip side is heating sheet goods up to the point that some will shrink if they are not heat stabilized. Gotta watch that too.
Wishin' I was Fishin'

Offline StuJohnston

« Reply #31 on: August 27, 2012, 11:41:09 PM »
The datasheet for the 9700 series has a note about forced drying. I can't recall the specifics off the top of my head, but it would be neat to just have prints stack up after being printed. It would have to be a pretty long chamber come to think of it.

I just thought of another thing. I sent an email, but no response yet, so… What is the footprint of an arrow multiprinter 8/6? Come to think of it, I forgot to ask in the email anyway.

I also have issues with waterbased locking in the screen, the only time I get bad haze is from waterbased inks. I can wash out the solvent ink no problem and with a little work, even when it's dried.

EDIT: Sent another email with my number in it, got a call an hour later. I wish people wouldbe specific how they would like to be contacted. Whatever, The guy was cool and was able to answer al of my questions off the top of his head.