Author Topic: any quitting smoking tips?  (Read 7821 times)

Offline Prosperi-Tees

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • Common Sense - Get Some
any quitting smoking tips?
« on: May 19, 2012, 04:04:12 PM »
So I'm coming up on my 37th birthday on the 30th and it has me thinking of putting more effort into quitting. I have tried gum, the e-cig and cold turkey. The most effective so far has been the gum which allows me 2 whole days of smoke free freedom. I have been smoking off and on for 27 years and I actually support the higher taxes on cigs. Hell if they were $10 bucks a pack my cheap ass wouldn't buy em. But I still can get them for about $3.50 a pack so it makes it easy to keep going.

Offline Prosperi-Tees

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
Re: any quitting smoking tips?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 04:07:39 PM »
Oh and I'm not a heavy smoker just steady. I average about 10-14 smokes a day.

Offline Gilligan

• !!!
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2012, 04:08:20 PM »
My buddy got on some med that made him super sick when he would smoke and that pretty much did it for him.

Basically think A Clockwork Orange type of conditioning.  Messed up but, effective.

One thing you could do is pretend it IS $10 bucks a pack.  When you buy a pack take the other $6.50 and put it in a savings account for your kid or just plain give it to your kid.  I know I love my kid but I don't want to just be giving her $6.50/day because I would want to smoke!  LOL  If that doesn't work give the $6.50 to a cause you don't like at all... that way it is truly a terrible tax on you.

Offline Prosperi-Tees

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2012, 04:12:14 PM »
I see the commercials about Chantix but my wife is paranoid about the side effects like suicidal thoughts etc etc. My old boss use to tell me the same thing to match the money each time I bought a pack and put it aside. Never tried it though. I wonder if hypnotism works

Offline ebscreen

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member