Author Topic: Making of a Grumpy Cat  (Read 4264 times)

Offline sullyman

• Verified/Junior
Making of a Grumpy Cat
« on: April 18, 2013, 08:35:59 AM »
Hey Everyone!

Well this is my first thread created here as I'm a newb to TSB. I'm apart of most of the other shirt forums but I'm liking this one and seems more my style!  I figured I start with a tutorial on my process, so here goes... ;D

Analyze: Like the image states, I like to start by getting and idea or "feel" for the subject matter and so I analyze it by breaking it down into simple geometric shapes/forms.

Concept (Sketch): Once I have a feel for the geometry of the subject I move onto a rough concept sketch. At this point I'm taking the knowledge I gained from the the study and then add character to the shapes to really give them some emotion.

Concept (Color): Once I have my rough concept I then move into concepting the colors. People like to move right into details but keep in mind the big picture. Whether it's sketching or coloring keeping the big picture in mind is hard when you're focusing on all the little details.

I generally through down some colors to get a feel for the tone for the piece but since we're using photo reference I went ahead and used the colors I analyzed in the photo (yes, do it without color picking!)

Final Render: Once you have the tone of your piece and are happy with where the colors a heading, start to render in the lighting of your subject. Pay attention to the forms and always be thinking in 3D (add booming, echoed voice) Keep in mind color temperature (that could be hundreds of tutorials in itself)

Hint: Shadows tend to be darker with more saturation (chroma) while colors near the light source tend to be lighter with less saturation.