Author Topic: Complete Newbie...trying to get started  (Read 3296 times)

Offline sarahpierces

Complete Newbie...trying to get started
« on: March 11, 2014, 02:24:17 PM »
So I am completely new to this, but I work for a tattoo shop and we want to start producing t-shirts...can anyone help me with what equipment I need...so I don't get ripped off...and what space I would need for a 4-6 manual screen printer...

Thank you,
Sarah

Offline prozyan

Re: Complete Newbie...trying to get started
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 03:21:39 PM »
What you are asking is actually much more in depth than just what space you need. 

Are you wanting to produce t-shirts just for your shop or as a separate business?  If it is just for the shop, personally I would just look to work out a contract deal on bulk quantities.  Given the learning curve and initial expenditure on equipment, you'd probably save a lot of time and headaches going that direction.

Or is this for a separate business venture?
If Barbie is so popular, why do you have to buy her friends?

Offline kirkage

• Verified/Junior
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2014, 03:28:57 PM »
I have all of my equipment in a two-car detached garage. 6 color printer and 10 foot conveyor dryer. I would try to find a small shop in another city that you could visit. There is a lot to learn about the process that will take time. Keep your overhead low until you know what you are doing or contract you business to another printer. I was lucky to grow up around the business. You could try to buy used equipment like I did. The printer, I would buy new.

Offline LuxInks

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2014, 03:33:35 PM »
What you are asking is actually much more in depth than just what space you need.