Author Topic: Hey Y'all  (Read 1017 times)

Offline StinkyDaddy

Hey Y'all
« on: August 15, 2014, 11:00:19 AM »
I've been lurking here for a while. I think this forum is super cool and has a lot of valuable information.
Here's a little bit about me:

I was first introduced to screen printing in a serigraphy class in college where I was an art major. We made fine art prints using cut paper stencils, painting blockout directly onto the screen and using photo emulsion. Shortly after that, I worked as an airbrush artist on weekends for a screen printer. We traveled around to car shows and beach music festivals painting shirts. That was a great gig in the mid '80s for a college kid. Occasionally I would help him in the shop where I learned more about t-shirt printing. During this time, I also worked for a sign shop, this was back when signs were painted by hand. I found that experience to be very good as well.

After I graduated from college, I took a job as a staff artist for a decent sized screen print operation with multiple retail locations. Our main market was team sports from rec league to high school and college. This was a high-volume design job which was challenging; however, it provided me with valuable experience since I did everything from artwork to making screens to repairing dryers.

After a year, my illustration work had picked up enough that I could leave the screen print job and focus full-time on medical illustration. For the next few years, I illustrated surgical procedures for malpractice defense. A few years into working on my own I had the opportunity to start a screen print shop as a side project.

In the beginning, I did the artwork and made screens with employees doing most of the printing. After having employees for a period of time, I realized that I could make more money with less headaches by doing it all myself.