Author Topic: DTG CMYK COLOR BUILDS  (Read 1476 times)

Offline SEPSINK

DTG CMYK COLOR BUILDS
« on: July 16, 2015, 03:03:36 PM »
Hey guys!

Im pretty new to the DTG world. I'm working with a kornit and am wondering if anyone has had any success hitting those poppy colors on press and what color builds they use?

More specifically CMYK color builds to substitute for 185 bright reds, Rhodamine pinks and your usual florescent colors. Just curious what other people might be doing!

Thanks!

www.seps.ink Color Separations For Screen Printers

Offline blue moon

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
Re: DTG CMYK COLOR BUILDS
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2015, 03:15:34 PM »
I don't think you can hit 185 with CMYK. It is a limitation of the process. . . There have been efforts to overcome this by hexacrome system, but it never really took off. Many separation programs now include RGB with CMYK to make it easier to hit the full gamut.

If you are working with the CMYK printers, my suggestion would be to get a Pantone book called Color Bridge that will show you how close you can hit PMS numbers with CMYK inks.

pierre
Yes, we've won our share of awards, and yes, I've tested stuff and read the scientific papers, but ultimately take everything I say with more than just a grain of salt! So if you are looking for trouble, just do as I say or even better, do something I said years ago!

Offline SEPSINK

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2015, 03:40:45 PM »
Hey Pierre,

Thanks for the input! Im current with all of this and currently use the bridge system.
Lots of DTG shops have color builds that they have found work better than others and drop in for those color standards that people are looking for. Bright red is a known issue with these presses and everyone has their own build that works for them. Just curious what specific builds people have had success with.

www.seps.ink Color Separations For Screen Printers

Online mk162

• Ludicrous Speed Member