Author Topic: Shop Owner - Looking into acquiring an Embroidering System  (Read 4785 times)

Offline Sirchopz

Shop Owner - Looking into acquiring an Embroidering System
« on: November 05, 2015, 11:43:19 AM »
Hey Mentor Squad, i have a couple of Questions about Embroidering. I have been screen-printing for 13 yrs. I turn down many jobs for Embroidering because I do not have one. What I send them to a couple of guys that I know they do that. But lately I have been getting more and more request for it. Ever since I got involved with schools.  :D

Question 1: Should I buy a embroidering system?

Question 2: Which kind? I have $12K to spend.

What will be the Pros/Cons from all Squads experience?

Thank you
Chopz.

Offline mk162

• Ludicrous Speed Member
Re: Shop Owner - Looking into acquiring an Embroidering System
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2015, 11:45:16 AM »
1. yes.

2. look for a used barudan or tajima.  4 head preferably, but $12 might not get you enough machine.  A 2 head isn't bad, but it's slow.

Offline Sirchopz

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2015, 12:09:17 PM »
MK162, so you recommend a wait a bit more to come up with more cash? Your thoughts?

Offline mk162

• Ludicrous Speed Member
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2015, 12:38:01 PM »
either that or take out a loan.  keep your cash.  Barudan's lease is pretty easy.

There are tax advantages for loans or leases.  Check with your CPA.

Online GraphicDisorder

• !!!
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Bottom Feeder
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2015, 12:57:58 PM »
12k Wont get you real far unless you go pretty old, don't forget software as well.  Which isn't cheap.  Figure 3k-15k for that. 

Single head will frustrate you and you wont make real money.  Go 2 head at least.  4 Head if you want to make money, 6 if you have space as often the cost to go to 6 head from 4 isn't much difference.
Brandt | Graphic Disorder | www.GraphicDisorder.com
@GraphicDisorder - Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube

Offline Sirchopz