Author Topic: This one may seem silly- clearing ink versus trapping art  (Read 2292 times)

Offline andyandtobie

• Verified/Junior
  • "They said this would be easy!"
This one may seem silly- clearing ink versus trapping art
« on: May 21, 2016, 12:59:39 AM »
Thanks to everyone for helping me with my last rookie question, so at the risk of seeming too greedy, here's another one.  I actually should've asked this one a long time ago, so now it seems even more dumb since I didn't ask earlier.

Okay- so let's say I've separated a multiple color job, with a solid white base, several colors, and a black keyline to go on top of the whole thing.  So, I've been choking the white by a few pixels so that it's trapped under the black keyline.  White goes down with a couple of strokes through a 225S, either as two strokes and a flash, or as a tedious p/f/p/f maneuver (thereby reminding myself that I'm still a rookie).  Then it comes time to lay down the colors with as little pressure as possible so that they don't dot gain (as per my last post).  Finally I print the black on top, but since the white is choked under the black keyline, those few pixels-worth of black that extend past the edge of the white just hang in the screen and it starts to build up, since it can't transfer to the shirt without adding more pressure, "squishing" the print and blowing out the image with dot gain.  Am I just being a knucklehead and missing something?

Offline Printficient

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
Re: This one may seem silly- clearing ink versus trapping art
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2016, 08:18:57 AM »
As a rule you should cut out the black from your underlay.  Print the black directly on the garment.
Shop-Doc "I make house calls"
Procedure Video Training
Press Inspections
Tips and Tricks Training
404-895-1796 Sonny McDonald

Offline Doug S

• Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2016, 10:46:44 AM »
I'm with Sonny on that one unless I'm creating a gray using a white under black.