Author Topic: How to print rasterized images through FilmMaker using Photoshop?  (Read 1860 times)

Offline Raw Paw

• Verified/Junior
Hello warriors of the print realm.  Just got our first rip set up after nearly 10 years in the business, in anticipation for our T3270.  We are getting it to print (using Canon Pixma ix6820), however, cannot get around one issue.  We prepare all of our artwork in Photoshop, and cannot figure out how to send a rasterized image through the FilmMaker rip without it bitmapping the image.  We are thresholding / bitmapping / dithering everything to get it to print through the RIP, but it would honestly be far more ideal if I could print that soft rasterized edge through the rip, without it automatically making a stairstepping pixelated edge.  I am new to using a rip - got it set up with the help of a Chromaline tech, but he was unsure of how to fix this particular issue.  Attached some photos to hopefully help explain.  Thank you!!!
Live by the blade, Die by the blade

Offline Sbrem

• Ludicrous Speed Member
Re: How to print rasterized images through FilmMaker using Photoshop?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2022, 03:12:40 PM »
A bitmap automatically removes any gray, so no soft edge. However, try increasing the resolution of your image before you change to bitmap, for instance, 1200 ppi, and though you'll still have a "stair step" they'll be so small you can't see them.

Steve
I made a mistake once; I thought I was wrong about something; I wasn't

Offline screenxpress

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2022, 03:20:42 PM »
I'm having a difficulty with the terms RIP and Bitmap used together.  Don't they step on or tend to cancel out each other? 

What do I know, lol.  My output from PS goes straight to a Postscript file for printing.
Anything important is never left to the vote of the people. We only get to vote on some man; we never get to vote on what he is to do.  Will Rogers

Offline inkman996

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member