Author Topic: titanium needles  (Read 3194 times)

Online balloonguy

• !!!
titanium needles
« on: August 12, 2022, 03:08:49 PM »
I am running some structured caps and I am breaking a lot of needles. I am looking for a better solution. Do the titanium really hold up better? Silicone spray? What size should I be using?
Thanks. I am new to embroidery sorry for all the questions.
When you dig grave will you make it shallow so that I can feel the rain?

Offline Zelko-4-EVA

Re: titanium needles
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2022, 08:42:46 PM »
what needle are you using right now?

i think we use regular sharp needles 75/11, and at a slower speed maybe 650 or so.

hows your hook timing and distance from needle?  might need to increase the distance a hair if the needle is getting pushed into the hook...  tension on top thread?   the structure plus backing stabilizer can add a bit of resistance to the thread, if you back off a tiny bit it might help...

im not a pro at embroidery, but these are things that techs have asked me to check when ive asked them similar questions.

Offline mooseman

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2022, 12:13:44 PM »
I am running some structured caps and I am breaking a lot of needles. I am looking for a better solution. Do the titanium really hold up better? Silicone spray? What size should I be using?
Thanks. I am new to embroidery sorry for all the questions.

Traditional problem when working structured caps.
There is a bunch of ares at consider;

1 HOOPING is your first focus. If you are getting any flagging (movement of the cap down from needle pressure because it rides above the needle plate). The cap needs to be riding over the needil plate or as close as possible, ideally right on the plate to mitigate this issue.
Most machines will have a different style needle plate for caps and flats. The cap plates are generally taller (higher).