Author Topic: Screen tension - does 5 Newton’s make a big difference  (Read 2203 times)

Offline Screened Gear

• Gonzo Member
Screen tension - does 5 Newton’s make a big difference
« on: April 17, 2012, 04:59:21 AM »
I have been running statics for over 3 years my lowest tension is 15n and highest is 24n. Most of my screens are in the 18n to 22n range. I am wondering where is the sweet spot. Is 25n enough? what about 30n? Do I really need 40n?How much is each newton worth?

Each mesh count is different so let’s just say the 156 (150-160) thread meshes what tension do you have to have?
At what point does the tension do more harm than good? (popping screens)
At what point can you not tell the difference in print quality?

Offline mooseman

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
Re: Screen tension - does 5 Newton’s make a big difference
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2012, 06:32:07 AM »
Yes 5 Newtons can make a huge difference.

Forget mesh for a moment and think about a rubber band.
A fresh new band will take an increasing amount of energy to allow you to stretch it from fully relaxed to it’s elastic limit. As you stretch the rubber band to limit you can actually easily feel it stop stretching as it reaches it’s elastic limit. In that general area the amount of energy you apply is exponentially greater than anything previous and the resultant stretch is actually kinda the inverse as exponentially less / input energy....you are near the elastic limit of the band. If you keep pulling it fails.

Ok now that you have “softened” up the rubber band a few times by stretching it you can again take it to the elastic limit. The difference here is the amount of stretch, (length) is generally a bit greater given the same amount of energy input and the band pretty much acts the same when you reach the upper elastic limit it is just that the band will allow you to stretch it a little longer.

Now to your 5 Newtons, pull out the term rubber band and insert screen mesh.