Author Topic: Grades of Magnets?  (Read 3421 times)

Offline ZooCity

• Gonzo Member
Grades of Magnets?
« on: May 23, 2013, 06:46:09 PM »
I'm brand new to some of this stuff, subbing out a few initial orders to see if we'll bring it in house or not. Magnets came up  and I delivered an order to a client who wanted the 30mil auto grade specifically.  Well, they feel like they don't have enough "power".  I told them I would look into it but all I can see is either the 17pt or business card type and then the 30mil auto. 

Is there a super strong magnet material that is printable?

My thought was that they don't have enough "power" b/c they are 4"x6" and most car mags are bigger with more suface area.   Never the less, where do you even go to source this type of material?

Offline Screened Gear

• Gonzo Member
Re: Grades of Magnets?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2013, 07:19:42 PM »
I don't know a ton about magnets but I do know if your putting them on a car make sure to put a one inch rounded corner on them. If you don't its only a latter of time before the corner catches the wind and it ends up on the side of the road.

I don't print magnets. To cheap to outsource them.

Online ericheartsu

• Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013, 08:46:02 PM »
we did abouto 10,000 magnets for a client earlier this year, i think we used a company called Magnetic attractions. Super nice quality. all digital though.
Night Owls
Waterbased screen printing and promo products.
www.nightowlsprint.com 281.741.7285

Offline ZooCity

• Gonzo Member
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2013, 09:44:01 PM »
Yeah, this is all digital, roll media with mag backer.  I just wasn't sure if it came in thicker or better grade than the 30mil.  Really think it just has to do with the small size not having enough surface area but maybe the mag is weak. 

I'll check out magnetic attractions and see if they know anything about it.