Author Topic: I'm a rookie and I made a rookie mistake hahaha  (Read 2947 times)

Offline Mark @ Hurricane Printing

I'm a rookie and I made a rookie mistake hahaha
« on: June 02, 2013, 03:35:18 PM »
melted the rubber topping on my platen hahah. Did a small run of 24 shirts this morning, 2 colors with a flash..knocked it out quickly and I was so happy i had zero problems and didnt not ruin any shirts...I come into my kitchen to sort and QC..about 20 minutes in i smell buring rubber and my house alarms start going off..I haul butt to the garage and it was full of smoke...i literally DIVE over the exposure unit and turn off the breaker to the flash..i turned my conveyor off when the job was done but not my flash!!!!..now my entire house smells like burnt rubber...and i have to now replace the rubber top of the pallet. Luckily I was home...what if i left to run an errend or something???!!!! or deliver the shirts maybe????...I was counting my blessings let me tell ya! So now all the windows are open...fans running in all room.....and i am looking at the silver lining that now at least i get to learn how to replace the rubber top. I needed to learn how to do it and now there is no putting it off.

Other than almost burning my house down, the job went off without a hitch hahahaha
« Last Edit: June 02, 2013, 06:44:17 PM by Mark »
Mark

Offline Nick Bane

Re: I'm a rookie and I made a rookie mistake hahaha
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2013, 03:47:23 PM »
once it cools, make sure the aluminum is still level as well, or you may be better off just replacing the entire platen. 
Bane Ink - 619-701-4283

Offline Dottonedan

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Email me at art@designsbydottone.com
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2013, 03:52:21 PM »
WOW.  Nothing new to these guys.  I'm sure I may end up doing something like that one day I'm sure.