Author Topic: Hello from Andy and Tobie  (Read 1510 times)

Offline andyandtobie

• Verified/Junior
  • "They said this would be easy!"
Hello from Andy and Tobie
« on: December 12, 2014, 04:08:17 PM »
Hey guys, my wife Tobie and I have posted here a few times, but always because we desperately needed solutions, and never took the time to properly introduce ourselves.  Sorry about that!  But as always, the people here have just been fantastic, and bailed us out when we needed it.  I make my living as an artist working out of my home studio, and about a year ago we decided to expand into screen printing and set up a tiny 12' x 12' shop in our spare room.  Why sell a piece of art once if you could sell it hundreds of times, we thought, right?  So we've been trying as hard as we can to learn as much as possible, and get our quality up before we really do any advertising.  With all the amazing information on this forum, we're sure we'll get there- but we've still got a long way to go.

So here are photos of the three jobs we've done so far.  The first shot is "Shirt Number One," which we're keeping to make ourselves feel better when things aren't going right.  Printed on a blank yanked from my wife's closet, we decided to back off the element in the dryer after that one.  The finished fishing boat job was printed with Matsui color on Comet White with Matsui Undercoat Binder to stop dye migration on 50/50 shirts.  The girl on the chopper was Matsui color on white cotton, much easier.  The auto body shirt we just finished yesterday, as our first project in plastisol.  We bought the QCM QMX mixing system for this, on 159 white, after upgrading to S-mesh on our little 6/4 manual that we print with.

Thanks again, guys!
-Andy

Offline Frog

• Administrator
  • Ludicrous Speed Member
  • Docendo discimus
Re: Hello from Andy and Tobie
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2014, 04:46:43 PM »
A belated howdy and welcome!
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?

Offline tonyt79